Whole Wheat Refrigerator Rolls


I enjoy making homemade bread and my family enjoys eating it. Here is a super easy roll recipe just in time for Easter! I like to make them into cloverleaf rolls.

WHOLE WHEAT REFRIGERATOR ROLLS

INGREDIENTS
2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast (I use Bread Machine yeast)
2 cups warm water (110 degrees to 115 degrees) (1 minute in microwave)
1/2 cup sugar (I use Sugar in the Raw)
2 teaspoons salt (I use Kosher salt)
5 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 egg
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup whole wheat flour

DIRECTIONS
Put the liquids first and then the rest of the ingredients in your bread maker. Turn your bread maker to the “dough” setting. Let rise until doubled or cover and refrigerate overnight. Punch dough down and form into dinner-size rolls. Place on greased baking sheets for plain rolls or knots, or in greased muffin tins for cloverleaf rolls. (to make the cloverleaf rolls, roll three small balls of dough and put them in a greased muffin tin cup) Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour for dough prepared the same day or 1 to 2 hours for refrigerated dough. Bake at 375 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown. Serve warm. If desired, dough may be kept up to 4 days in the refrigerator. Punch down daily.

No breadmaker? No problem. Here are your instructions.
DIRECTIONS
In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in water. Let stand 5 minutes. Blend in sugar, salt and 3 cups all-purpose flour at low speed until moistened; beat 2 minutes at medium speed. Beat in egg and oil. By hand, gradually stir in whole wheat flour and enough remaining all-purpose flour to make a soft dough. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead until smooth and elastic, about 6 to 8 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise until doubled or cover and refrigerate overnight. Punch dough down and form into dinner-size rolls. Place on greased baking sheets for plain rolls or knots, or in greased muffin tins for cloverleaf rolls (to make the cloverleaf rolls, roll three small balls of dough and put them in a greased muffin tin cup). Cover and let rise until doubled, about 1 hour for dough prepared the same day or 1 to 2 hours for refrigerated dough. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown. Serve warm. If desired, dough may be kept up to 4 days in the refrigerator. Punch down daily.

About Frazzled Mom

I'm a homeschooling mom of two boys (High School and Junior High). I've been at it for eight years and enjoy the closeness with my boys. Homeschooling doesn't define me, but it is a big part of who I am. I enjoy cooking with an emphasis on the Cajun flavors of my childhood. I enjoy decorating and sharing my ideas with my friends. Mostly I love my Savior, Jesus. I write about what he's teaching me and what he's still working on in me. I love reading your comments and questions.
This entry was posted in Buns, Cloverleaf Rolls, Easter Rolls, Whole Wheat Refrigerator Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole Wheat Refrigerator Rolls

  1. mary grace says:

    I just had to laugh when I saw this … your bio says you’re NOT a whole wheat homeschool mom! 🙂 I guess even those of us who can’t seem to go along with everyone’s flow find ourselves floating every once in a while! 🙂

  2. Frazzled Mom says:

    Cute! But thankfully, I’m 5 1/2 cups all purpose and only 1 cup whole wheat!

Leave a comment