The Humble Meatloaf Revisited and Revived

The very word “meatloaf” does not conjure up memories of tasty meals. Let’s elevate that lowly dish into something of a star. A makeover of sorts.

Meatloaf Makeover

1 lb of extra lean ground beef
1/2 cup of Bread Crumbs (you can also substitute for oatmeal)
1 egg beaten
1 Tbl. Onion Powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
2 Tbl. Worchester Sauce
1/2 tsp. sage
1/2 tsp. basil
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. parsley
1/4 c. milk
Add-ins:
6 slices of ham or turkey
3 slices of provolone cheese
1 cup chopped broccoli (frozen)
Add all the ingredients together in a bowl (except the Add-ins). Mix with your hands. Pat the meat mixture onto a piece of waxed paper and flatten to 1/2 inch thick. Lay the ham or turkey, provolone and then the broccoli. pick up the edge of the waxed paper to roll the flattened meat up into a log shape (rolling from the long end so you don’t have a super thick meatloaf). Remove the waxed paper, seal the ends and the seam and place the loaf into a large glass dish.

Bake at 350 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. If it is still pink inside, cover with foil and cook for another 30 minutes.
Topping:
In a bowl combine 1/4 cup catsup and 2 Tbl. of brown sugar and 1 tsp. dry mustard. Spread over loaf. Bake for 10 minutes more uncovered.
About Frazzled Mom

I'm a homeschooling mom of two boys (High School and Junior High). I've been at it for eight years and enjoy the closeness with my boys. Homeschooling doesn't define me, but it is a big part of who I am. I enjoy cooking with an emphasis on the Cajun flavors of my childhood. I enjoy decorating and sharing my ideas with my friends. Mostly I love my Savior, Jesus. I write about what he's teaching me and what he's still working on in me. I love reading your comments and questions.
This entry was posted in brocolli stuffed meatloaf, Ham and cheese stuffed meatloaf, Meatloaf, stuffed meatloaf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

